Analysing India’s World T20 2021 squad 

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Image source: Twitter)
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Image source: Twitter)

After many days of anticipation and build-up, the much-awaited Indian squad for the upcoming WT20 2021 was announced on Wednesday. The 18-member squad comprising 15 main players and 3 reserves put an end to all the speculations regarding certain players’ selection.

Here is an analysis of the Indian squad which would like to end India’s trophy drought.



Team India has one of the best, if not the best opening pair going into the World Cup in the form of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. With Ishan Kishan serving as their back-up and also having the option to use Kohli as an opener, the opening is looking quite sorted for Team India.


The selectors have gone with the captain, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant as the middle-order batsmen for Team India, with Ishan Kishan serving as a back-up here as well. An anchor who can accelerate anytime after getting set, with two batsmen having super positive intent forms India’s quite formidable middle-order. A deep batting line-up like what India possess will let Surya and Pant to play their natural game without any fear of collapse. The only concern for Team India could be the availability of only one back-up guy, Kishan, if more than one player witnesses a dip in form.


The trio of Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja will be entrusted for finishing duties. With all three having done it quite a few times for India and their respective IPL franchises in the past, it won’t be a new task for them.



Going into the marquee event with five spinners, the spin unit provides an unprecedented variety to India. Whether it’s the tight lines bowling duo of Jadeja and Axar, or the street smartness of Ashwin. Whether it’s the big-hearted Rahul Chahar or the mysterious Varun Chakravarthy, India’s spin unit is quite settled, at least on paper, even in the absence of KulCha (referring to Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal).

Pace Battery 

With only 3 specialist pacers and a pace bowling all-rounder in Hardik Pandya, Team India has taken the spin-friendliness of UAE pitches into the account and has gone with only 4 pacers. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah will be relied upon to bowl well in the death overs. Mohammed Shami and Hardik will be playing a key role during the middle overs.

Other than the mentioned 15 players, the selection of 3 reserves in the form of Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar has also been made, in case a player in the main squad gets injured.

Six ICC tournaments have passed since 2013 and India’s desire to win one remains unfulfilled till date. In the upcoming WT20, the desire will get a rebirth with only one hope that the 8 years’ trophy drought will get some drops of happiness.

For all the latest cricket news, updates, interviews, visit Like us on Facebook and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel as well. Follow us on Instagram or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: